South Texas congressmen explain votes for impeachment

McALLEN — The Valley’s congressmen have shared their thoughts on President Donald Trump’s impeachment on Wednesday evening. Trump became the third chief executive to be...

Garcia wins in Edinburg; new mayor for La Joya

Voters in Edinburg and La Joya had their final say in runoff elections Tuesday. In Edinburg, voters elected Juan “Johnny” Garcia to fill the Place 3 seat that Homer Jasso Jr. will soon vacate, according to the unofficial runoff results. Garcia bested Deanna “Coach” Dominguez by 1,533 votes. Garcia received 64% of the vote, with 3,424 ballots cast in his favor. Dominguez received 36% of the vote, with 1,891 votes. “I think the city was looking for that change, and it’s like I told everybody while I was out campaigning, that seat doesn’t belong to me. It belongs to the community,” Garcia said. “I’m just glad they’ve given me the opportunity to serve the community of Edinburg.” Read the full story at

Early voting in La Joya runoffs continues

Early voting in the three runoff elections for the city of La Joya resumes Monday morning following a pause for the Thanksgiving holiday. The races for mayor, city council place 2, and city council place 4, which were up for election during the Nov. 5 general, all went into runoffs after none of the candidates in any of the races earned a majority of the votes. Mayor Jose “Fito” Salinas came in second in the general election with 34.32% of the vote, or 533 votes, according to the final certified results. Read the full story at

La Joya mayor, former police chief, head to runoff

La Joya Mayor Jose “Fito” Salinas will head into a runoff election after coming in second to a challenger in Tuesday’s city elections. Salinas, who earned 34% — or 533 votes — will face off against former La Joya Police Chief Isidro Casanova who led Tuesday with 48%, or 748 votes, according to unofficial final numbers. The third mayoral candidate, Jaime Gaitan, trailed with 17.4% of the votes which amounted to 271 votes. Read the full story at

Edinburg majority up for grabs as Place 3 race heads to runoff

The former police chief here defeated the Place 4 incumbent, delivering a blow to the current council majority, but the fight for control of the city is not yet over. Former Police Chief David White managed to obtain 376 more votes than Edinburg Councilman David Torres, according to unofficial results released by the Hidalgo County Elections Department Tuesday night. White received 56% of the early vote, with 3,659 ballots cast in his favor, while Torres received 44%, with 2,846 votes. Neither of them returned calls for comment Tuesday night. Read the full story at

Election Results – November 2019

Municipal Elections Unofficial Results from Hidalgo County All Precincts Reporting Mayor, City of Alamo Diana Martinez - 1,343 Trinidad 'Trino' Medina - 1,118 City Commissioner - Place Two (2), City of Alamo Joseph...

Hidalgo County voters head to the polls: What you need to know

Rio Grande Valley voters will have one last chance to cast their ballots in a spate of local races, as well as 10 proposed state constitutional amendments Tuesday. Edinburg, Weslaco, Alamo, Edcouch and La Joya are all holding municipal elections. In Edinburg, two seats on the city council are up for grabs, as is the position of municipal judge. Four people are vying for the Place 3 seat vacated by outgoing Councilman Homer Jasso Jr. — Juan “Johnny” Garcia, Carlos Jasso, Mark Roque and Deanna “Coach” Dominguez. In the event that no one candidate wins more than 50% of the vote, then the two candidates with the highest number of votes will head to a runoff. Read the full story at

Find Your Polling Place

Election Day is tomorrow, so be sure to get out and vote if you haven't already. Here are places you can vote in Hidalgo...

Three seats up for grabs in Edcouch

Three seats on the Edcouch City Council are up for a vote in the upcoming November election, with early voting beginning Monday. For the position of mayor, incumbent Virginio “Virgil” Gonzalez Jr. is seeking another term in the city’s top spot. He is being challenged by current Alderman Fred Borrego Jr., who decided not to seek re-election to his Place 3 seat in favor of running for mayor. In Borrego’s stead, two new political hopefuls have tossed their names in the hat for Place 3: Carlos Castillo and John Chapa. Finally, at Place 4, newcomer Robert Gutierrez is running uncontested. Current Place 4 Alderman Danny Guzman chose not to seek another term. Read the full story at

Two vie for mayor in Weslaco

Two men are seeking to become Weslaco’s next mayor as early voting kicks off Monday in the Mid-Valley. Incumbent David Suarez, who was first elected mayor in 2013, is seeking another term this November; he is being challenged by Alfredo “Duff” Castañeda, a high school teacher of psychology, and government and economics. A third man who also filed a candidate application to run for mayor this summer was subsequently disqualified from the race. In a candidate forum held earlier this month, Suarez said he hopes to continue leading the city on its current track, where the city’s fund balance has been steadily improved, public safety and infrastructure needs have been prioritized, and the city’s economic development has grown. Read the full story at