Weekend Events — Friday, Feb. 8 – Sunday, Feb. 10

WEEKEND ALEGRÍA 2019 Ballet Folklórico UTRGV performs in its annual event. WHEN 7:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday, 2 p.m. Sunday WHERE Rio Grande Valley Performing Arts Complex COST $15...

Weekend Events — Friday, Feb. 1 – Sunday, Feb. 3

Submit your event to tcupples@themonitor.com by 5 p.m. Monday to be considered for the following Friday. WEEKEND CIRCUS SAURUS Carson & Barnes Circus presents its prehistoric show...

Texas Citrus Fiesta marks 82nd year

FRED RAMOS | SPECIAL TO THE MONITOR Final preparations are underway for one of the Rio Grande Valley’s largest annual community festivals on Saturday. Workers...

Weekend Events — Friday, Jan. 25 – Sunday, Jan. 27

WEEKEND ‘BAREFOOT IN THE PARK’ One of Neil Simon’s most popular romantic comedies, Barefoot in the Park is about the joys of moving in together, newly-wedded...

Weekend Events — Friday, Jan. 18 – Sunday, Jan. 20

WEEKEND ‘NEWSIES: THE MUSICAL’ The McAllen High School Choir and Theatre students unite to present the performance. “Newsies” tells the story of the Newsboys Strike of...

Weekend Events — Friday, Jan. 11 – Sunday, Jan. 13

Submit your event to tcupples@themonitor.com by 5 p.m. Monday to be considered for the following Friday. WEEKEND STAND UP PADDLEBOARD WORKOUT Join a Town Lake staff member...

Festiva Events — Friday, Jan. 4 – Sunday, Jan. 6

WEEKEND STAND UP PADDLEBOARD WORKOUT Join a Town Lake staff member for a 30 minute workout on a paddleboard. No experience is necessary. WHEN Noon Saturday and...

Festiva Events — Friday, Dec. 28 – Sunday, Dec. 30

WEEKEND HOLIDAY SAND CASTLE VILLAGE The village is filled with unique holiday sand sculptures built by talented artists. The outdoor exhibit includes a lighted musical performance...

Edinburg and Donna students write letters to Santa

"People think Christmas is mostly about gifts and mostly getting things but if you think about it some kids don’t even have Christmas. Because those kids don’t even have a family and to me that’s sad. I wish every person who lives on this world can have a family."

Share your letters to Santa with The Monitor

We want to read all those cute letters to Santa. The letters may be used in print.