Early voting in La Joya runoffs continues

Early voting in the three runoff elections for the city of La Joya resumes Monday morning following a pause for the Thanksgiving holiday.

The races for mayor, city council place 2, and city council place 4, which were up for election during the Nov. 5 general, all went into runoffs after none of the candidates in any of the races earned a majority of the votes.

Mayor Jose “Fito” Salinas came in second in the general election with 34.32% of the vote, or 533 votes, according to the final certified results.

In the runoff, he is up against former La Joya Police Chief Isidro Casanova who had the most votes during the general election with 48.23%, or 749 votes.

Casanova’s running mates all led in their respective races as well.

Roger Hernandez received 50% with 770 votes in the Place 2 race. He is running against Daniel Flores Jr., Salinas’ running mate, who earned 29.94%, or 461 votes.

In the Place 4 race, Laura Mendiola Macias came in the lead with 49.61% or 769 votes. She is running against Dalia Arriaga, Salinas’ third running mate, who gathered 31.94% with 495 votes cast in her favor.

Early voting in the runoffs began Nov. 25, but halted Thursday and Friday for Thanksgiving — though, it resumed Saturday.

The last stretch of early voting will begin Monday and continue through Friday from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The three available polling locations are La Joya City Hall, the Elections Annex in Edinburg, and the Edinburg campus of the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley.

Election Day is Dec. 10.