Early voting period begins

Early voting in Hidalgo County is set to begin Monday and will run through Nov. 1.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Hidalgo County Voters can cast their ballot at any county polling location. The address of the nearest polling location to you can be found by visiting www.hidalgocounty.us/elections.

Ten proposed constitutional amendments will be on the ballot, including Proposition 4, which would effectively prohibit a state income tax in Texas.

Propositions 3 and 8 would introduce measures aimed at providing relief to residents affected by disasters, while Proposition 5 is aimed at securing funding for Texas parks and historic sites through sales tax on sporting goods.

Proposition 6 would enable legislators to double the amount of taxpayer-backed bonds the state issues for the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas, and Proposition 7 would double annual public education funding for the Available School Fund.

Other propositions would affect taxes on precious metals, the care of law enforcement animals, water access and the election of municipal bonds.

Many Rio Grande Valley voters will also see candidates running for municipal positions.


Diana Martinez and Trinidad “Trino” Medina will compete for the position of mayor of Alamo in the November election. Joseph Sweet will run against Pedro “Pete” Morales for the post of commissioner place 2, while Michael P. Benedetti, Maria Del Pilar Garza and Lora “LJ” Gioeni compete for the seat of commissioner place 4.

Additionally, there will be a special election for a city commissioner position, with Oscar “Okie” Salinas and Joel Casas running to fill the slot.


Edcouch residents will see two contested races on the ballot along with one uncontested race.

Fred Borrego Jr. and Virginio “Virgil” Gonzalez Jr. will both be running for mayor, while Carlos Castillo and John Chapa vie for the position of alderman place 3. Robert Gutierrez will run for alderman place 4 unopposed.


Voters from Edinburg will see Juan “Johnny” Garcia, Carlos Jasso, Marc Roque and Deanna “Coach” Dominguez run against each other for the position of councilmember place 3. David Torres and David White will compete for council member place 4, while Alma Garza will challenge Toribio “Terry” Palacios for the position of municipal court judge.


La Joya voters will see several names on the ballot. Fito Salinas, Isidro Casanova and Jaime Gaitan will all be running for the position of mayor. Daniel Flores Jr., Roger Hernandez and

Sylvia Cerda Oxford will be competing for commissioner place 2, while Dalia Arriaga, Laura Mendiola Macias and Aurora Ruiz face off for the seat of commissioner place 4.


Weslaco residents will see one contested race on the ballot, with Alfredo “Duff” Castañeda challenging David Suarez for the position of mayor. Additionally, Leticia “Letty” Lopez will run for Commissioner District 5 and Josh Pedraza will run for Commissioner District 6 unopposed.