UTRGV professor named outstanding alumnus

HARLINGEN — Diana Delinda Ruiz is passionate about her work.

As a professor for 11 years, she has played an important role in molding the next generation of counselors.

Her contributions to the counseling profession were recognized by her students and colleagues as the recipient of the 2019 Emmette R. Hutto Outstanding Alumnus Award, recently presented by the UTRGV Brownsville Counseling Student Association & the Edinburg Counseling Student Association.

“It means the world to me that this year’s graduates of the counseling programs of the UTRGV Brownsville and Edinburg campuses chose me to receive this coveted award,” Ruiz, Clinical Associate Professor in the Department of Counseling at UTRGV, stated via email. “They, along with my colleagues, are the motivation and drive that activate me daily to find strategies, techniques and already proven methods to help each student succeed.”

With more than 24 years as an educator, Ruiz is also a trained Make-a-Wish Granter, a former board member of the Ronald McDonald House Charities Board of Directors and currently serves as the Committee Chair for the UTRGV Department of Counseling Advisory Committee.

In 2013, she was the recipient of the Outstanding New Faculty Teaching Award for the UTPA College of Education.

“I’m very grateful for the recognition, which I share with all involved,” she stated. “The strong support that the professors in my department share is extremely productive and makes us a family whose goal is to prepare our students to be the best counselors in our schools.”