The Monitor’s 2018-19 All-Area Girls Basketball First and Second Teams

The Monitor’s All-Area First Team

Jenessah Santa Maria

Sr. guard, Edinburg High

Santa Maria, a younger sister of The Monitor’s 2018 All-Area Player of the Year Jayla, established herself as one of the top players in the Valley (19.0 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.2 assists, 2.9 steals).

Valeria Garcia

Jr. forward, McAllen Memorial

Garcia was one of the Valley’s top all-around talents averaging 16.9 points, 11.0 rebounds and 5.6 steals per game in 2018-19.

Audry Hornaday

So. guard, Sharyland Pioneer

Hornaday averaged 12.3 points, 10.9 rebounds, 7.3 assists and 5.3 steals in 36 games at the point guard position.

Catie Rodriguez

Sr. guard, PSJA North

Rodriguez was one of the top point guards in the Valley (16.7 points, 3.9 assists, 3.6 3-pointers made per game). She helped the Raiders win the program’s first playoff game since 2016.

Illiyah Cantu

Sr. forward, Weslaco High

Cantu averaged a double-double (12.3 points, 10.3 rebounds) and racked up 4.6 steals per game. The Panthers won a share of the District 31-6A title.

The Monitor’s All-Area Second Team

Kayleen Rios

Sr. guard, Edinburg Vela

Rios was the SaberCats’ top scorer (13.9 points) and top pickpocket on defense (3.7 steals) in her final season.

Savannah Sanchez

Jr. guard, Hidalgo

Sanchez (12.4 points, 4.3 assists) stepped into the shoes of do-it-all guard Ashley Arjona and led the Pirates to a 35-win season and an undefeated record in District 32-4A.

Jackie Howell

Sr. forward, Mission Veterans

The senior Howell ended her Patriot career as the team leader in scoring (12.7 points), rebounding (9.6 rebounds) and steals (4.2).

Mika Vento

Jr. forward, Mercedes

Vento (9.5 points, 9.4 rebounds, 2.8 steals, 3.7 blocks) contributed to the Tigers’ first district championship under coach Santiago Rivas.

Brianna Quesada

Sr. guard, Donna High

Quesada (13.0 points, 5.0 rebounds, 6.0 steals) was a part of a strong senior class at Donna High that resulted in a third-place finish in District 32-5A.